Wheelchair Curling

017 Curling en silla de ruedas

It is practiced by athletes without mobility or disabled mobility and the 10 participating teams must consist of male and female. The wheelchair curling first entered the competition at the Paralympic Winter Games of Torino 2006. In the field there are two concentric circles of different colours and each team must release eight granite stones and try to place them as close to the inner circle. Points are awarded depending on the proximity and number of stones placed near the target and the total score comes out the winner. The only changes made to the rules dictated by the World Curling Federation are sweeping ban and the possibility to help with a stick to do the launch.

Wheelchair Curling at the Vancouver 2010 JJPP